Dr. Rochelle Dalla

Hi everyone!  I am Rochelle Dalla and I want to personally welcome each of you on this India adventure!!  I have been a faculty member in the Department of Child, Youth and Family Studies at UNL for 16 years and have just been promoted to Full Professor!! J  My research focuses on marginalized female populations—those who are confined to the fringes of society, who experience little social, personal, or political power, and whose voices often remain unheard.  My research is aimed at providing these women voice as well as visibility.  I am a qualitative researcher and rely on in-depth, personal interviews for data collection.  For the past 15 years my work has focused on women trafficked into the commercial sex industry (CSI).  Although largely based in the U.S., my interests and attention have recently become global in scope—focusing on trafficking survivors in Mumbai, India specifically. In the summer of 2011, I interviewed 30 women living and working in the red-light slum districts of Kamathipura and Falkland Road in India.  This was an exceptionally exhausting trip—both physically and emotionally—with the arduous journey rivaled only by the rewards of the work and the life stories I was gifted.  I feel honored now to be able to share some of these experiences with each of you.

In addition to my research with trafficking survivors, I am also the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Human Trafficking (JHT) (see www.tandfonline.com/uhmt), an international journal devoted to the dissemination of scholarship on all issues related to trafficking in persons—from prevention and intervention, to protection, prosecution, and partnership.

On a personal note, I am a (fifth generation) native of Durango, Colorado- a town with a population of about 25,000 located in the southwest corner of the state. Durango is in the valley and surrounded by enormous mountains—it is beautiful there!  It is a year-around tourist destination (i.e., skiers in the winter and rock climbers, mountain bikers, and road racers in the summer).  My family (mother, father, sister) still lives there and I visit as often as possible.  Damian and I have been together for eight years and we have an AMAZING 3 year-old (ask me about him!!) named Logan who currently loves Peppa Pig and John Deere tractors!!

Logan Rochelle_Damian Logan2

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s